Council History


Through the vision of Fr. Murray Sample and Bro. Ivan Shea, the District Deputy at the time, the council began with 65 members and has since more than doubled it's membership.


Council 10561 received it's charter from the Supreme Council in February 1991. Towards the end of September of the same year, we witnessed the first Installation of Officers for our newly formed Council Executive.


In the past twenty years, our council has become an established, recognized and vibrant organization within the parish.  We have also enjoyed strong leadership from all the brother knights who have served on the executive or as program and committee members.


Through dedicated involvement in many area events, Council 10561 has developed a broad array of programs, charities and events which it supports. Some of these include the K of C Basketball Free Throw Program, Marian Villa and St. Mary's Hospital Outreach programs, as well as the Voyageur Wilderness Program, a 10 day canoeing and camping trip in Quetico Provincial Park, which is west of Thunder Bay, Ontario, and was first introduced to our council by Fr. Al Campeau.

Our council officially celebrated its 10th anniversary on May 4th, 2001, its 20th anniversary on June 10th, 2011, and its 25th anniversary on May 6th, 2016. These celebrations were a great testament to the dedication of the many members of our council, both past and present, who have committed themselves to the ideals of Fr. McGivney through their involvement in our council's various programs and involvement in the community.

Links to the 20th Anniversary celebration booklet and the 25th Anniversary celebration booklet can be found by clicking on the images here:

In Memoriam

We also remember those

Brother Knights

who have gone before us.


Their names are listed on

our In Memoriam page,

which can be found by

clicking the image at the left.


Past Grand Knights

Bro. Bob Ward 1991 - 1992 Bro. Lawrence Reaume 2007 - 2008
Bro. Robert Byrne 1992 - 1995 Bro. Richard Vandierendonck 2008 - 2011
  Bro. George Mottram 1995 - 1998 Bro. Edgar Hooper 2011 - 2013
Bro. Don Highley 1998 - 2001 Bro. Pat Lavigne 2013 - 2015
Bro. Michael Bowers 2001 - 2003 Bro. Chuck Lutchin 2015 - 2017
Bro. Ritchie Barlow 2003 - 2005 Bro. Tom Mills 2017 - 2019
Bro. Peter Lierman 2005 - 2007    
Home Return to Bulletins